RSS Feed

One for One, One for All

Happy Earth Day everyone! Today is a great day to remind ourselves how important it is to do our part in helping protect and preserve our planet’s precious resources. In honor of Earth Day, I would like to spotlight one of my favorite environmentally friendly designers, TOMS Shoes. If you haven’t heard of TOMS Shoes, you are in for a treat! TOMS not only makes comfy and stylish shoes, they are a company with a mission. I took this excerpt from their website which best describes their movement: 

“In 2006, American traveler Blake Mycoskie befriended children in Argentina and found they had no shoes to protect their feet. Wanting to help, he created TOMS Shoes, a company that would match every pair of shoes purchased with a pair of new shoes given to a child in need. One for One. Blake returned to Argentina with a group of family, friends and staff later that year with 10,000 pairs of shoes made possible by TOMS customers.”

Not only do they match a pair bought for a pair donated, TOMS also makes a selection of “vegan” shoes, which are completely environmentally friendly and organic. I personally own 4 pairs of TOMS because I love how cute and comfortable they are, and I also love knowing that because I bought them, 4 kids somewhere in the world that were without will get a pair of new shoes just like me. I mean, talk about a win-win situation! The One-for-One movement is about making everyday choices to improve the lives of children throughout the world. We should all take today to consider how we can each do our part to help and implement those thoughts everyday of the year.

Visit tomsshoes.com for more information.

I wore my sparkly TOMS today in honor of Earth Day.

 
About thefashionobsessed

Lover of fashion.

2 responses »

  1. I love Toms! I remember years ago when they first came out I got a pair just because of the buy a pair, donate a pair promise and they’ve ended up being the most comfy shoes EVER. My girlfriend actually wore the silver sparkly version for her wedding. She figured no one really sees the shoes, why not be comfortable?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

